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Continuous Announcement 

 

ALEA TROOPER, TRAINEE - 60670 
 

Salary: $35,589.60 - $53,995.20* 

*Starting salaries will be adjusted based on education above the minimum: 

Completion of a 2-year degree - $36,489.60 and completion of a 4-year degree - $38,347.20 

Announcement Date: October 21, 2015 

JOB INFORMATION 
Trooper, Trainee is a permanent full-time position with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA).  Positions are statewide, in 

various locations throughout Alabama.  Trooper, Trainee is the entry-level law enforcement classification for ALEA’s Department of 

Public Safety.  Employees are trainees who complete required courses of training approved by the Alabama Peace Officers Standards 

and Training Commission (APOSTC) as well as specialized ALEA job assignment training (e.g., highway patrol, marine patrol, capitol 

police).  After successfully completing the required training programs, incumbents become eligible for promotion to the ALEA Trooper 

classification. 
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

• Applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED certificate. 

• Applicants must be 21 years of age or older by the test date. 

 

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS 

 Applicants must be a U. S. Citizen at the time of appointment. 

 Applicants must possess a valid Alabama driver license at the time of appointment. 

 Applicants must meet the requirements of the Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission and designated agency training, 

and other specialized training during the probationary period. 

 Applicants will be required to complete the Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission Physical Ability/Agility Test.  The 

physical test will consist of the following components: 

 An obstacle course in 90 seconds where applicants push a vehicle 15 feet, climb a 6-foot wall or chain link fence, crawl 

through a small window, walk a balance beam, and drag a 165-pound dummy 15 feet; 

 At least 22 push-ups in 60 seconds; 

 At least 25 sit-ups in 60 seconds; and 

 A 1.5 mile run in 15 minutes and 28 seconds. 

 Applicants must successfully complete a background investigation. 

 Marine Patrol Division positions require employees to obtain a vessel operator license during the probationary period. 
 

NOTES 

 Applicants are subject to assignment anywhere within the State. 

 Applicants should indicate if they are APOST certified in the Professional License or Certificate section on their applications.  Please 

include the certification number and issue date in the space provided.  Applicants who are APOST certified may be selectively certified 

when hiring ALEA Trooper, Trainees. 
 

EXAMINATION 

 Open-Competitive to all applicants 

 A Written Multiple Choice Exam will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register. 

 The How to Prepare Guide for this examination is available on our website listed above.  Please contact State Personnel if you wish 

to have a guide mailed to you. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama Career 

Center Office. 

• Apply by mail or by fax.  Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for 

late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions. 

Individuals who applied on or after August 12, 2015 DO NOT need to reapply to remain eligible for employment. 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting 

post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 

information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be given 

an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a register.  

Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9).  According 

to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of 

this type of misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they will be required to 

forfeit their office or position for five years. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel 

Department. 

 

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant 

to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States 

listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education               

(NEASC-CIHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above listed regional accreditation 

associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable 

prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an 

applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree.  

In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college 

coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 

bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 

Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note:  This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the above listed 

accreditation associations. 


