
 
State of Alabama 

Personnel Department 

64 North Union Street 

P. O. Box 304100 

Montgomery, AL 36130-4100 

Phone: (334) 242-3389 

Fax: (334) 242-1110 

www.personnel.alabama.gov 
 

Current Announcement 
 

DRIVER LICENSE SPECIALIST – 60412 
 

Salary: $26,464.80 - $39,290.40 

Announcement Date: July 27, 2016 

Application Deadline: August 17, 2016 

 
 

JOB INFORMATION 

Driver License Specialist is a permanent full-time position with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA).  

Positions are statewide, in various locations throughout Alabama.  This is specialized public contact and/or technical 

work in researching and reviewing classified documents and files. 
 

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

 High school diploma or GED 

 Three years of experience performing responsible clerical work such as conducting research, making technical 

decisions to determine appropriate action, and inspecting documents for compliance according to applicable standards 

 For the promotional register, current permanent status in the Driver License Division of ALEA 
 

EXAMINATION 

 Open-Competitive to all applicants and Promotional to current state employees in the Driver License Division of 

ALEA 

 A Written Multiple-Choice Exam will comprise 95% of the applicant’s final score for the promotional register, with 

the remaining 5% being based on the average of the applicant’s service ratings for the last three years.  Scores from 

the exam will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register. 

 A Candidate Information Guide for this examination is available on our website listed above.  Please contact State 

Personnel if you wish to have a guide mailed to you. 
 

HOW TO APPLY 

• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any 

Alabama Career Center Office. 

• Apply by mail or by fax.  Application must be received by 5:00 p.m. on the application deadline date shown above.  

The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing 

malfunctions. 

 

Individuals currently on the register MUST reapply to remain eligible for employment. 

Veteran’s credits are NOT allowed on promotional examinations. 
 

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER 
 

*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting  

post-secondary and advanced degrees.  

http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/
http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain 

information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may not be 

given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed from a 

register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-

x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor.  Any person 

who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will not get a state job.  If they are officers or employees of the state, they 

will be required to forfeit their office or position for five years. 

 

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 

Personnel Department. 

 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 

pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 

 

 
State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 

 

1. Specific college coursework required for a job, as well as Bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees 

will be accepted from the schools accredited by any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United 

States listed below: 

 

 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 

 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)) 

 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 

 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 

 New England Association of Schools and Colleges – Commission on Institutions of Higher Education               

(NEASC-CIHE) 

 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 

 

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above listed regional accreditation 

associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 

acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited 

school accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will 

accept the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will 

accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary 

degree (e.g., a bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally 

accredited school.   State Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 

 

Note:  This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 

 
*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the above listed 

accreditation associations. 

 
 

 
 


