
JOB INFORMATION
 The Youth Services Aide is a permanent, full-time position with the Department of Youth Services.  This position is located at various 
facilities throughout the state.  This is non-professional work involving the supervision, observation, security and rehabilitation of youth in 
a group living situation.  No examination is required.  No employment register is maintained.  Applicants meeting the qualifications below 
may apply directly to the Department of Youth Services or to the State Personnel Department to be placed on the direct appointment list 
for Youth Services Aide.
MINIMUM REQUIREMENT(S)
• High school diploma or GED
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENT(S)
• According to Act 85-681 of the Alabama Legislature, you may not be hired if you have been convicted of the following crimes:  murder, 
rape in the first degree, kidnapping in the first degree, assault in the first degree, arson in the first degree, or a crime dealing with abuse 
of children.  You will be investigated before you are hired.

NOTE(S)
• Employees in this class may work day, evening, or night shifts and/or weekends including holidays.
• As part of the application process, you will be required to tour the campus facility and participate in an on-site orientation program.
EXAMINATION
• No examination is required.
HOW TO APPLY
• Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama Career 
Center Office.
• Application for this class may be submitted directly to the Department of Youth Services in person or online at www.dys.alabama.gov, 
OR online, by mail, or by fax to the State Personnel Department.
• Applications will be accepted until further notice.  The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of applications 
due to mail service or faxing malfunctions.

Salary: $28,514.40 - $46,672.80

Announcement Date: April 8, 2015

YOUTH SERVICES AIDE  – 60801

Revised Date: September 18, 2024

Starting salary upon initial appointment to the merit system may be based on various factors.

THE STATE OF ALABAMA IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER
*Please refer to the back of this announcement for complete information on State Personnel’s policy for accepting

post-secondary and advanced degrees.

State of Alabama Personnel Department
64 North Union Street

Montgomery, AL  36130-4100
Phone: (334) 242-3389          Fax: (334) 242-1110

www.personnel.alabama.gov
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http://www.personnel.alabama.gov/


 

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly 
obtain information about examinations.  If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things.  One, you may 
not be given an examination.  Two, you may be disqualified after an examination.  Three, your name may be removed 
from a register.  Or four, your name may not be certified from the register.  (Rules of the State Personnel Board, 
Chapter 670-x-9).  According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a 
misdemeanor.  Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or 
employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the 
State, will forfeit his or her office or position. 
 
If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State 
Personnel Department. 
 
Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process 
pursuant to Act No. 2011-535. 
 

State of Alabama Personnel Department 

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees 
 
1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor’s, graduate, post graduate, 
and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission 
(DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below: 
 
 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) 
 Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) 
 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) 
 Higher Learning Commission (HLC) 
 New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) 
 Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC) 
 
College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor’s degree or higher. 
 
2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have not been accredited by one of the above accreditation 
associations may be accepted if a regionally accredited school* considers the coursework or degree to be an 
acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program.  For example, if a regionally accredited school 
accepts an applicant’s bachelor’s degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept 
the degree.  In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the 
college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a 
bachelor’s degree).  This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.   State 
Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis. 
 
Note: This policy is subject to change.  Certain state agencies may have additional requirements. 
 

*The term “regionally accredited school” refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation associations listed above. 
 
 

 
 




